CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

U.S. needs a mileage-based tax to boost transportation funding

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

An economy can grow only as fast as its transportation system can move it. Unfortunately, political gridlock in Washington threatens Colorado’s prosperity. The federal Highway Trust Fund, which provides funding for highway and public transportation projects, will run out of money this summer during the heart of construction season — halting numerous projects and forcing layoffs across the state.

If Congress does not act soon, Colorado will lose $200 million in federal transportation funds next year with more losses in the future, possibly costing the state more than 2,500 heavy construction and related jobs. A rapid drop in federal support will eliminate many needed projects, virtually guaranteeing additional roadway congestion, fewer transportation options, and a more dysfunctional system that pushes businesses out of state.

For decades, the federal government — for all its imperfections — has served as a strong partner, providing funding and a commitment to help Colorado achieve its vision for the future. Without this support, Colorado and the Denver metro area would look very different today — hampered by insufficient infrastructure and facing a more uncertain economic future.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Denver Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org