CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Saudi Arabia Walks Tightrope With Shift in Syria, Regional Policies

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Barack Obama’s visit to Saudi Arabia later this month will come at a time of considerable shifts in Saudi regional strategy. Three recent policy changes in particular—the moving of the Syria file from Prince Bandar bin Sultan to counterterrorism chief Prince Mohammad bin Nayef; the withdrawal of the Saudi, Emirati and Bahraini ambassadors from Qatar; and the designation of the Muslim Brotherhood, the Nusra Front and the Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) as terrorist organizations by Saudi Arabia—are signs that Riyadh is taking a more assertive approach to dealing with a range of Islamist forces. The Saudi government seems now to be pursuing a policy of dual containment of what it sees as its two biggest threats: the Muslim Brotherhood and certain branches of jihadi terrorism.

In shifting the Syria file away from Bandar, Riyadh replaced the vociferous critic of U.S. regional policy with a figure, Mohammed, who has engaged in day-to-day cooperation with Washington on Yemen and other fronts in the fight against global terrorist networks. Bandar’s unhappiness with U.S. policy in the Middle East has not been a secret. In October 2013, he reportedly told European diplomats that Saudi Arabia would effect a “major shift” away from the United States, specifically citing Syria and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict as the immediate causes. This public rhetoric was in line with other Saudi statements last fall pointing to sharp disapproval of Obama’s decision to not conduct targeted military strikes on Syria following the use of chemical weapons by the regime of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in World Politics Review.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org