CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Conservative games in Washington played at the expense of the vulnerable

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Instead of allowing Congress to pass targeted, large, and progressive policies that have been shown to boost economic growth and job creation, a radical conservative minority has instead repeatedly gambled with the country’s economic health and with it the livelihoods of many Americans, particularly communities of color, which are, according to the Center for American Progress’ recent report, The State of Communities of Color in the U.S. Economy, still in a fragile state from the setbacks caused by the Great Recession in 2007.

This dangerous and obstructionist gamesmanship was done all in the name of undoing the Affordable Health Care Act, or ACA, commonly known as Obamacare, which House Republicans have voted to dismantle 46 times and forced the recent two-week federal government shutdown, despite the fact the law is already helping millions of uninsured and underinsured American families. The impacts of the actions of this radical minority are especially detrimental to communities of color who stand to gain significantly from a fully implemented and funded health care law.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in theGrio.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org