CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Another Ploy to Rip Off Homeowners

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

If you had to buy insurance, would you ask JP Morgan Chase or Wells Fargo to choose a policy for you? Probably not. And yet, the Federal Housing Finance Agency is allowing Chase, Wells and other mortgage servicing giants to insurance-shop for millions of homeowners who get saddled with absurdly over-priced coverage while the big banks walk off with kickbacks from the insurance companies.

Every mortgage holder is required to have homeowner’s insurance. Sometimes the insurance lapses or gets canceled, often without the homeowner’s knowledge, making it necessary for the mortgage servicer to step in and purchase a form of emergency coverage known as force-placed or lender-placed insurance. Such emergencies have become far more common since the onset of the housing crisis; and because force-placed insurance costs between two and 10 times as much as regular homeowner’s insurance, it can have the perverse effect of driving families into foreclosure or making it harder for them to obtain affordable loan modifications.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News & World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org