CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

American Labor's New Agenda: A Movement for Global Shared Prosperity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Two themes prevailed at AFL-CIO’s global convention held in Los Angeles last week. The first was a deep indignation over the unbridled growth of corporate interest and money power in American politics. The second was a quieter understanding that the unions that once anchored people power in this country must reinvent themselves to survive. That reinvention depends on a new awareness among American workers that their fate is bound to the fate of workers worldwide.

The outrage expressed by convention delegates over the metastasis of corporate power and the rise of inequality is important and justified. As Nobel Prize-winning economist Joseph Stiglitz emphasized, the unconscionable level of inequality in the United States is not natural. It is manufactured through legislative deregulation, regressive taxation, and the weakening of collective bargaining rights, all propelled by money power.

But more important is how progressives respond to the second phenomenon — the dispersal of people power and the vulnerability of the union movement.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org