CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Gen. David Jones: a legacy of efficiency, transformation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Retired Gen. David Jones, who passed away Aug. 10 at age 92 [“Jones a ‘visionary’ leader,” Aug. 26 issue], was a transformational military leader of the post-Vietnam period. Without his efforts, our military today would be less efficient and effective.

Gen. Jones left college to join the Army Air Corps shortly after the attack on Pearl Harbor, served in Korea and Vietnam, and was a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff from 1974 to 1982 — a longer term than anyone before or since, with four years as Air Force chief of staff and four years as JCS chairman.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Air Force Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org