CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Unsung Heroes of the Marriage Equality Movement

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week, in two historic decisions, the Supreme Court struck down the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and cleared the way for California to become the 13th state to allow same-sex couples to marry. This was a day for the history books — a tremendous victory for equality, for the country, and for the tens of thousands of LGBT men and women who serve in the United States military.

We all know the fight isn’t over. Thirty-seven states still bar or don’t recognize marriage equality. And in most states, LGBT Americans can be fired for their sexual orientation. Yet as we bask in these historic decisions, it’s worth acknowledging some of the unsung patriots who carried the torch for the freedom to marry.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in HuffPost Gay Voices.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org