CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Ending DOMA will mean equal rights for all members of our military

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In 1978, the Supreme Court struck down as unconstitutional a Wisconsin law that denied marriage licenses to individuals behind on their child support payments. Nine years later, the Court overturned a Missouri law barring incarcerated felons from marrying without the permission of their warden.

The basis for these rulings: Marriage is a fundamental right—and protected under the due process and equal protection clauses of the U.S. Constitution.

LGBT service members deserve the same rights as felons and deadbeat dads.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in msnbc.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org