CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Striking Down DOMA Won't Cause a 'Backlash' Against Gay Marriage

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Striking Down DOMA Won’t Cause a ‘Backlash’ Against Gay Marriage

With two gay marriage cases before the Supreme Court this week, there has been some hand-wringing that the Court could somehow go too far and engender a backlash against LGBT rights. The narrative goes something like this:

The Court acted too quickly by recognizing a right to abortion in Roe v. Wade and we’ve been fighting about it ever since. If the Court had simply let the political process run its course, ultimately all states would have adopted laws liberalizing abortion and the matter would be settled. Support for gay rights is on the upswing; better for the Court not to interfere with this momentum lest we spend the next 40 years or more fighting about that, too.

The problem with the backlash narrative is twofold: 1) It is historically inaccurate, and 2) it fails to treat abortion and marriage as the fundamental rights that they are.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Atlantic.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org