CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

A soldier reflects: Those who had the least to lose sent us to war

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

I loved the military. I especially loved the men with whom I served. The fact that 19 of them never made it home from Iraq continues to haunt me today. My reflections on the Iraq War, now almost 10 years after we came home, still seem too raw-–especially when the nation I love has moved on and doesn’t seem to have learned its lesson from an unnecessary war.

In Iraq, I led a BOLT team with the 82nd Airborne Division (Brigade Operational Law Team) in south-central Baghdad.  It was my second post-9/11 deployment. We suffered through the 138-degree heat with few showers and the constant threat of danger from mortar fire, roadside bombs, and AK-47s.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in msnbc.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org