CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Letter to Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Honorable Chuck Hagel, Secretary of Defense
1000 Defense Pentagon
Washington, DC 20301-1000

Dear Mr. Secretary:

You take responsibility for the nation’s defenses at a perilous time. Despite warnings from former Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta and the country’s senior military leaders about the disruptions that the mandatory budget reductions would do to the people, programs and operations of the U.S. defense system sequestration has been imposed on the Department of Defense. As you recognize these cuts will be especially severe because the DOD has been spending under a Continuing Budget Resolution so that the mandated fiscal year 2013 (FY13) reduction of $ 42.7 billion (7.95%) cut must be taken in the remaining seven months of this fiscal year. Your initial comments to the DOD community stressed the importance of the President and Congress working toward a new defense posture that provides predictable and stable financial resource to preserve the military capability the United States needs. We write to suggest an approach to achieving this critical objective.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org