CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

How DOMA hurts our military families

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last December, U.S. Marine Corps. Captain Matthew Phelps got down on one knee and proposed to the person he loved most in the world. It was one of the happiest moments of his life. The fact that it occurred in the White House made it all that much sweeter. Pictures of the moment went viral, popping up all over Twitter and Facebook.

Amazingly, while most Americans can recognize how special that moment was, our government continues to deny its significance. That’s because Matthew is gay, and due to that fact alone, his soon-to-be husband, Ben Schock, will be denied hundreds of benefits that we routinely give to military families.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in msnbc.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org