CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Low Skills Aren't Causing the Unemployment Crisis

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

More than 12 million people in the United States are pounding the pavement, searching for a job without luck. This is fewer than a few years ago — we had a high of nearly 16 million unemployed in 2010 — but far more than at any point in recent memory prior to the Great Recession.

Why are people out of work? Some economists have been arguing that today’s high unemployment is explained by a mismatch between the skills that employers are looking for and the skills that the unemployed have. “Firms have jobs, but can’t find appropriate workers,” the Minneapolis Fed President Narayana Kocherlakota said in Michigan in 2010. “The workers want to work, but can’t find appropriate jobs.” Indeed, there were 3.7 million unfilled job openings in the United States in June of this year, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

However, it’s unlikely that this phenomenon is a major driver of persistently high unemployment.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Atlantic.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org