CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Special Interests Tip the Scales of Justice in Favor of Corporations

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Americans are rightly concerned about significant sums of corporate campaign cash capturing their elected representatives. Even more troubling, though less reported, is the flood of campaign money that has poured into elections for state court justices over the last two decades. Judges are supposed to be independent, fair arbiters of justice. In the Citizens United era, however, judges will increasingly face a choice between siding with the law, or siding with special interests that can spend unlimited sums on their re-elections.

In just the last 12 years, state supreme courts have seen exponentially expensive races, with candidates raising nearly $250 million. The states which have seen the most judicial campaign money – Alabama, Texas, Michigan, Ohio – now have high courts dominated by judges funded by corporate interests. When pro-corporate judges control the bench, individuals suing corporations face higher hurdles. In a recent Center for American Progress report, we examined cases at these courts from 1992-2010, to get a sense of how the law changed after elections for the courts were flooded with special interest money.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org