CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Reducing Mortgage Principal Is Not a ‘Moral’ Issue

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The federal agency that regulates Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac is expected any day now to update its position on so-called "mortgage principal reduction," lowering the amount owed on a home loan in exchange for a higher likelihood of repayment. The Federal Housing Finance Agency is reluctant to allow principal reductions at Fannie and Freddie, even though many private banks write down principal for delinquent borrowers that are deeply "underwater," meaning they owe more than their home is worth.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in American Banker.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org