CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Disrespected by Lt. Gov. Jennifer Carroll

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Jennifer Carroll, the embattled lieutenant governor of Florida, is under fire this week for incendiary comments she made denigrating single black women and black lesbians. A black woman herself, she blurted out a nervous defense to allegations that she has been involved in a same-sex affair with a staffer in a television interview on Monday:

"I’m the one that’s married for twenty-nine years!  The accuser is the one that’s been single for a long time. So usually black women that look like me don’t engage in relationships like that.”

The folly of her remarks is certainly obvious.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Essence.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org