CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Leadership Fellow to Participate in Global Youth Summit in South Africa

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Leadership Fellow Jamila Aisha Brown will participate in the Open Society Initiative for Southern Africa’s Youth Summit this May in Cape Town, South Africa. The Youth Summit will preview the Open Society’s OpenForum, which will be centered around the theme of Money, Power and Sex: The paradox of unequal growth. The OpenForum will provide a space for activists, academics, businesspeople and policy-makers to reflect on the current economic, social and political implications for Africa and guide the programming and advocacy of the Africa Foundations. Brown is one of 60 young people worldwide who will participate in the Youth Summit and speak to these important issues from an informed and innovative perspective.

Based in DC, Brown is an activist, writer, and social entrepreneur. Her diverse background as a person of Panamanian, African-American, and Caribbean descent propelled her into the arena of international relations with a special focus on the African Diaspora. She recently founded HUE, LLC, a social entrepreneurship that provides consulting, project creation, management, and evaluation support for organizations working with communities of African-descent. Through the Youth Summit, Brown will meet other young leaders interested in exploring how the Diaspora can work together to address unequal development. Brown holds a B.A. in International Studies from Emory University and an Executive Masters degree from American University in International Service.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Open Society Initiative.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org