CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Uh-Oh. Pakistan Can’t Pay Its Electric Bills.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Over the course of its four years in office, the embattled government of Pakistani Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani has weathered challenges from opposition parties both new and old, threats of military intervention or coup, and most recently, a conviction sentence from Pakistan’s iconoclastic judiciary for its unwillingness to seek the reopening of corruption charges against President Asif Ali Zardari — which may eventually lead to Gilani’s disqualification from office. Although the government has shown remarkable tenacity in the face of these challenges, its fights for political survival — taking place as relations with Pakistan’s principal sponsor, the United States, have plummeted — have obscured the worsening state of the country’s economic health at home.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Foreign Policy.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org