CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Guest Voz: Three Ways the Ryan Budget Hits Latinos

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In the national debate over our nation’s deficit, there are certain undeniable truths — the country is digging itself deeper into debt and something must be done.

Both parties have presented their budgets to help the country regain a fiscal footing. With such an important issue impacting people differently based on their income and economic standing in this country, it’s not surprising that both budgets tend to be less for every person but targeted to benefit the main base of their own party.

Critics and Wall Street hate Obama’s budget plan and see it as raising taxes unnecessarily on the wealthy and discouraging the growth of businesses, aka job creators. On the other hand, Paul Ryan’s latest budget incarnation differs little from his 2011 presentation where his path to fiscal responsibility meant having the federal government turn its back on sustaining a basic quality of life for all Americans by cutting deeply into social services that keep many of today’s working class families afloat, especially Latinos.

In the following Guest Voz, Melissa Boteach, director of the project “Half in Ten: The Campaign to Cut Poverty in Half in Ten Years,” explains how the Ryan budget would do little to help Latino families and actually lays the foundation for creating an economic apocalypse for Latinos and all working class families.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in LatinaLista.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org