CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Awareness Can Translate Into Action

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As we’ve seen over the last year, social media provides each of us with an unprecedented capacity to connect, inspire, translate and amplify around the issues that matter most. In the advocacy realm, it is an increasingly vital tool to galvanize public opinion and generate the “noise” that brings about meaningful change.

When it comes to addressing the Lord’s Resistance Army and helping the communities long brutalized by its wrath, Invisible Children has used the "Kony 2012" video to appeal to young Americans in a manner that resonates with them and makes them want to learn – and do – more.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org