CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Samir Paul, DC School Reform NOW December ’11 Outstanding Educator

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

CAP Leadership Fellow Samir Paul was selected as DC School Reform NOW’s December 2011 Outstanding Educator. “Education reform is the silver bullet for the gravest problems facing the United States in a new century,” he said in an interview with the local school reform group. “It is a challenge too big for just teachers, just administrators, just communities, or just lawmakers—instead, it will require the unyielding commitment of all those groups and many more.” Read an interview with Mr. Paul on the DC School Reform NOW’s website.

Mr. Paul is a Teach For America corps member serving as a high school math and computer science teacher in the District of Columbia Public Schools. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan (pictured here with Mr. Paul) gave the keynote address at Teach For America’s 2nd annual DC Region gala where he urged the audience to find common ground in a shared commitment to seeking the best interest of students.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in DC School Reform NOW.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org