CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Workaday Fans Can Learn from the NFL Lockout

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The NFL lockout, and reports that a deal to end it is near, may seem relevant only to the future of your Sunday afternoons. But NFL players are fighting to receive the same basic benefits that most workers want and need. The players want an equitable share of the economic gains they help create. And they need to increase the security of their healthcare in retirement — a particular worry in a career that often leads to expensive health problems. Reasonable pay for one’s labor and secure health care are things all Americans need to have a fair shot at negotiating for, which is why the NFL players’ dispute with their employers is not just about wealthy football players and greedy owners. The ability to join a union and the enforcement of laws protecting workers should not only be for those who have the capacity to hire high-powered attorneys.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org