CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Social Innovation in Washington, D.C.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

On June 30, 2009, foundation heads, business leaders, and leading social entrepreneurs—including icons like Geoffrey Canada, Bill Drayton, and Dorothy Stoneman—gathered in the East Room of the White House to hear President Obama challenge the nonprofit, philanthropic, and private sectors to create a “new kind of partnership” that would lead to the most innovative, effective solutions to our nation’s toughest challenges. Given the historic magnitude of today’s problems, President Obama recognized that the federal government’s traditional approach and pace would not drive the dramatic progress that is needed in our communities. He said that the work of the country’s most effective nonprofits and foundations “is important in any year. But at this particular moment, when we’re facing challenges unlike any we’ve seen in our lifetime, it’s absolutely critical, because … let’s face it, there’s only so much that Washington can do.” The president said, “Instead of wasting taxpayer money on programs that are obsolete or ineffective, government should be seeking out creative, results-oriented solutions” in communities and “helping them replicate their efforts across America.”

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Stanford Social Innovation Review.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org