CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

America Needs to Clean Up, Hit the Books, and Go on a Diet

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

America has to do three things to get back on track: clean our house, hit the books, and go on a diet.

1. Clean our house: Our generally laudable political system is a mess. Because of procedural loopholes, most prominently the increasing use of the filibuster it now takes 66 percent of the Senate to get anything done. This is way too high a bar in a country so closely divided on partisan lines. Tell your representatives to reform the rules so a majority can make some big decisions. If they make bad decisions, fine, we can throw them out at the next election. But at this point, trying some bold fixes is better than further gridlock.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNN World.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org