CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Free Speech or Hate Speech?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This week the Supreme Court ruled in an 8-1 decision in favor of the Westboro Baptist Church of Topeka, Kansas’s right to protest at the funerals of slain servicemen and servicewomen. The Westboro protesters believe, and now the Supreme Court has confirmed, that they are within their First Amendment right to use the funerals of dead soldiers as an appropriate venue to vocalize their hatred of the gay community. Yes, that’s right: The Westboro church believes that America suffers ills such as war and terrorism because of its acceptance of gays and lesbians.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Global Grind.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org