CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

We Need a New Social Gospel

The Moral Imperative of Collective Bargaining

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Where is Walter Rauschenbusch, the great theological voice of the Social Gospel, today? Well, he’s been in Madison, Wisconsin and now he’s showing up in Indiana and Ohio as American workers and their pastors and religious leaders begin to realize that when the right to form unions and bargain collectively is under attack, something fundamental to human dignity is under attack. Fortunately, a large majority of Americans agree. According to a new USA Today/Gallup poll, 61 percent of Americans oppose taking away collective bargaining power as is proposed in Wisconsin.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Washington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org