CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: The School-Readiness Gap

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week, Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA), Rep. George Miller (D-CA), and Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY) introduced bipartisan legislation to expand access to high-quality preschool for low-income children. The bill would partner with states to build on their existing preschool programs to serve more children and ensure that all programs meet high-quality standards needed to prepare children for school, including well-compensated teachers with a bachelor’s degree, small class sizes, and research-based curricula. In addition, a portion of funds would be available to states to support access to high-quality child care for infants and toddlers.

The bill would provide a much-needed opportunity to many low-income children who enter school behind their peers. By the time children set foot in kindergarten, low-income children are already months or years behind, and that gap only grows larger in elementary school and beyond. Access to high-quality early childhood education can help: Children who attend such programs gain up to one year of additional learning.

Take a look at the barriers that children from low-income families face in getting ready for school, and how preschool can help:

CD2_CAP_School_V4_620

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org