CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

China’s Energy Challenge

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

China’s remarkable economic growth over the past two decades has enabled it to achieve social progress, has strengthened its geopolitical position, and has served as the lynchpin of the leadership’s domestic political strategy. For the foreseeable future, China’s leaders will continue to make economic growth a top priority.

As expected, this economic expansion has been accompanied by a corresponding surge in energy consumption. China became a net importer of oil in 1993, and it is now the world’s third largest importer and second largest consumer. China has thus far been able to meet this increase in demand
and prevent the economic slowdown that an energy shortage would precipitate.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org