CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: House Appropriations Bill Ignores the Other 99 Percent

Bill Cuts Vital Lifelines While Leaving Tax Breaks Untouched

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Download this infographic (pdf)

Read the infographic in your web browser (Scribd)

Last week House Republican leaders released draft legislation that slashes federal funding for core education, health, human services, and labor programs while ignoring better choices for balancing the federal budget including ending tax breaks for the wealthiest Americans and highly profitable companies. These proposed cuts demonstrate that the House leadership is ignoring the Occupy Wall Street protests giving voice to the 99 percent of Americans fed up with federal policies that protect tax laws benefiting the wealthiest while sacrificing programs that help the middle class and poor.

The infographic below illustrates that the House majority’s answer to the growing Occupy Wall Street movement is to make things worse for the 99 percent of Americans trying to hold on to the fraying American Dream.

Infographic

Download this infographic (pdf)

Read the infographic in your web browser (Scribd)

Donna Cooper is a Senior Fellow with the Economic Policy team and Melissa Boteach is the Half in Ten Manager at American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org