CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

House Majority Appropriations Bill Attacks the Other 99 Percent

Bill Guts Health, Education, and Workplace Support for Middle Class, Preserves Protections for top 1 Percent

SOURCE: AP/Michael Dwyer

Occupy Boston protesters demonstrate on the plaza in front of the Federal Reserve Bank in Boston, October 8, 2011. People are demanding to know what elected officials are doing for the bottom 99 percent of Americans. The answer coming out of the House of Representatives is exactly the opposite of what’s needed.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Conservatives in Congress last week quietly issued another sweeping attack on health, education, and workplace support for middle-class Americans—while preserving protections for the privileged top 1 percent. The conservative assault on the other 99 percent was buried in 150 pages of legislation drafted within the Republican-controlled House Appropriations Committee.

At a time when unemployment is near record levels and middle-class incomes stagnate, the bill seeks to eliminate funding for job training and gut basic protections for workers that help ensure they are paid what they are owed. It would slash Pell Grant funding and protects the interests of big businesses by letting colleges (particularly for-profit ones) off the hook for their students’ poor outcomes. And with U.S. poverty rates at a 17-year high, the legislation would slash energy assistance for the vulnerable. It also seeks to overturn policies that ensure all Americans have access to health care.

Neither this nor other bills supported by the House majority address the unfair benefits that go to the top 1 percent, such as tax breaks for oil and gas companies and ultra-low tax rates for some millionaires.

In protests around the country, people are demanding to know what elected officials are doing for the bottom 99 percent of Americans. The answer coming out of the House of Representatives is exactly the opposite of what’s needed.

The columns that follow provide detailed information on the disastrous funding and policy choices made by the House majority for the coming fiscal year:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org