CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Economic Snapshot

August 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers should not let politics stand in the way of boosting economic and job growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, August 20, 2012

July 2012

Slow job growth and lingering wealth losses should be at the top of lawmakers’ minds, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, July 16, 2012

June 2012

Policymakers need to create more economic certainty for American families, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

May 2012

Policymakers should feel a sense of urgency about helping America’s middle class, writes Christian Weller.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

April 2012

The economic outlook is better for families, writes Christian E. Weller, but trouble spots remain, particularly on the jobs front.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

March 2012

Smart economic policy can continue to strengthen the economic recovery and help accelerate private-sector job creation, writes Christian E. Weller.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

February 2012

Our economy is recuperating but getting it back to full health will require policies aimed at job creation and at the most vulnerable, says Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

January 2012

Smart economic policy can continue to strengthen the economic recovery, writes Christian E. Weller.

Friday, January 27, 2012

December 2011

Economic growth will require some additional policy support in the near term, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

November 2011

The economy isn’t growing fast enough to bring down unemployment, writes Christian E. Weller. Policymakers need to step in with targeted measures.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

October 2011

Policy needs to focus on creating more and better jobs more quickly, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, October 31, 2011

September 2011

Smart jobs policy can help struggling families in the short term while improving the foundation for faster economic growth in the future, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

August 2011

Policymakers have a tough task ahead of balancing economic growth with deficit reduction, writes Christian E. Weller. But it’s not an impossible task.

Monday, August 29, 2011

July 2011

Policymakers need to resolve the debt limit debate in a way that doesn’t hurt economic growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

June 2011

Failing to raise the debt ceiling would threaten a fragile recovery, writes Christian E. Weller in this month’s economic outlook.

Monday, June 27, 2011