CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on the City of Seattle’s Decision to Raise the Minimum Wage to $15 per Hour

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden released the following statement regarding the City of Seattle’s Income Inequality Advisory Committee’s announcement of a deal to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour:

This is a historic day for Seattle and for American workers. Seattle business, community, and labor leaders understand that sustainable prosperity comes from the middle out, not from the top down. When workers make fair wages, they reinvest those wages in their local community, spending them at local businesses and on local taxes. Seattle’s encouraging announcement comes just one day after 41 Senate Republicans refused to raise the federal minimum wage for 28 million Americans, who are fighting to keep up with the rising cost of everything from groceries to college. Our elected officials in Washington, D.C., clearly have a lot to learn from Seattle, Washington, about how to strengthen our middle class and grow our economy.

Related resources:

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org