CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Conathan on the Confirmation of Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as NOAA Administrator

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, with a bipartisan voice vote, the Senate confirmed Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as the next administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, or NOAA. Sullivan served for over a year as acting administrator after holding the positions of assistant secretary of commerce for environmental observation and prediction and chief scientist. Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at the Center for American Progress American Progress, released the following statement:

As both an avid scuba diver and the first American woman to walk in space, Dr. Sullivan has seen the world from spectacular heights and briny depths, and she brings a unique set of perspectives to inform the management of some of our most vital natural resources. She has already proven more than capable of providing leadership, knowledge, and much-needed guidance to meet the many challenges that span NOAA’s scientific endeavors on the frontiers of space and sea.

Related resource:

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org