CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Lawrence J. Korb on Pentagon Budget Outlined Today by Secretary Hagel

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, as Defense Sectary Chuck Hagel outlined a proposed budget for the Pentagon, Lawrence J. Korb, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

The defense budget presented today responsibly meets the challenges that our country currently faces, rather than those from a bygone era. While Secretary Hagel is right to tackle some very difficult issues—such as slowing the growth of military personnel costs and finding the right balance between active duty and Reserve forces—ignoring the budget caps after FY 2015 will make it more difficult for the Pentagon to make the hard choices that will be necessary in the future.

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org