CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Experts on the Senate’s Historic ENDA Vote

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, the U.S. Senate passed the Employment Non-Discrimination Act, or ENDA, which provides basic protections from employment discrimination to the nation’s 8 million LGBT workers. The Center for American Progress released the following statements:

Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress:

When an LGBT American loses a job because of who they are, America is not living up to its promise. I congratulate the Senate for making America fairer and more just with this historic vote.

Winnie Stachelberg, Executive Vice President for External Affairs at the Center for American Progress:

Today’s historic, bipartisan vote is in the best tradition of the Senate and reflects the broad support for workplace protections for LGBT people. Speaker Boehner should listen to the majority of small business owners and Fortune 500 companies that value a diverse workforce and not stand in the way of these long-overdue protections becoming the law of the land.

Related resources:

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org