CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol M. Browner on Resignation of Heather Zichal

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email: ckiene@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, White House senior officials announced that Heather Zichal will be stepping down from her post as deputy assistant to the president for energy and climate change. In response to the announcement, Carol M. Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress who previously worked with Zichal under the Obama administration, released the following statement:

Heather Zichal is a true climate change leader. Because of her hard work, today the United States stands ready to implement an historic climate change action plan that will cut carbon pollution from new and existing power plants, the largest sources of carbon pollution in the U.S., and move us toward a clean energy future. Her drive, determination, and dedication kept climate change on the president’s policy agenda. The public health impacts of her work in the White House are yet to be measured. This is a big loss for the White House. She is a seasoned and accessible policy leader and she will be missed by all. I wish her the best of luck as she moves forward.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org