CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carol Browner on the Proposed Standard to Limit Carbon Pollution from Future Power Plants

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, President Barack Obama and EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy proposed new public health standards to limit carbon pollution from future power plants. Carol Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress and former EPA administrator, issued the following statement:

Limiting carbon pollution from future power plants will lead to cleaner electricity and healthier children. These standards, the latest in several common-sense steps that President Obama has taken to address climate change, will help protect our kids and future generations from the harmful effects of carbon pollution and will foster innovation in cleaner energy technologies. We already set limits on power-plant pollutants such as arsenic, mercury, and lead, but allow unlimited dumping of carbon pollution into our skies. It only makes sense to protect public health with sensible limits on carbon pollution.

To speak to our experts, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org