CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Economist Adam Hersh on Today’s GDP Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress Economist Adam Hersh had the following reaction to the announcement of the second-quarter GDP numbers released this morning by the Bureau of Labor Statistics:

No one should be surprised that economic growth continues to muddle along: This was the predictable outcome of across-the-board spending cuts in effect since March and other mounting fiscal austerity building wrought by deficit hawks in Congress. It is important to recognize that the choice to cut public spending is a deliberate political calculation made by leadership in the Republican-led House of Representatives that is costing the U.S. economy jobs and forestalling the aspirations for economic progress shared by millions of strained working families across the country. Restoring the ill-advised spending cuts is a no-brainer way to boost the economy, literally tomorrow. As CBO estimates show, we’d add 0.7 percentage points to GDP growth and nearly 1 million additional new jobs over the next year. This action could plug the dike, but policymakers must still focus their efforts on strengthening the more than 300 million people in working families who are America’s true engines of economic growth.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related resources from CAP:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org