CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on the Senate’s Confirmation of Secretary of Labor Thomas Perez

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Senate confirmed Thomas E. Perez as secretary of labor, and the Center for American Progress released the following statement from CAP President Neera Tanden:

Working Americans picked up a win today when the Senate confirmed the president’s choice of Tom Perez as secretary of labor. Tom has spent his career addressing the challenges facing working Americans as assistant U.S. attorney general for civil rights, as a Trustee for the Center for American Progress, and when he served as secretary of Maryland’s Department of Labor. He understands that workers’ rights are civil rights, and as secretary of labor, he’ll be exactly the kind of advocate that Americans deserve. Tom’s confirmation process should never have been so long and difficult, but I am glad that all of America’s workers will now have a champion at the Department of Labor.

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org