CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Winnie Stachelberg on the Supreme Court’s DOMA Ruling

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today Center for American Progress Executive Vice President for External Affairs Winnie Stachelberg issued the following statement reacting to the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling on the Defense of Marriage Act, United States v. Windsor:

Today the Supreme Court delivered two rulings for the history books. The Court ruled that discrimination against legally married same-sex couples violates the Constitution’s promise of equal treatment under the law. Following this ruling, all legally married couples, including same-sex couples, should be treated as married by the government in more than 1,000 federal benefits and protections—from Social Security to health insurance and even family-based immigration. And these couples should be treated equally no matter where they live. LGBT Americans won big today; however, it’s unfortunate that today’s victory came following other recent rulings striking at the heart of many Americans’ equality before the law. History will not look kindly upon many of the Roberts Court’s other rulings this term.

CAP experts available for comment

The following legal, political, and LGBT policy experts from the Center for American Progress are available for comment:

To speak with a CAP expert, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org