CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Jessica Arons on the Obama Administration’s Decision to Make Plan B One-Step™ over the Counter for All

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Jessica Arons, Director of the Women’s Health and Rights Program at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement on the Obama administration’s decision to make Plan B One-Step™ emergency contraception available over the counter for all women and girls:

This decision is a long-overdue victory for women’s health and rights. After a decade of fighting for over-the-counter access for emergency contraception, Plan B One-Step™ will finally be available to the general public with no arbitrary and unnecessary barriers like age limits or point-of-sale restrictions. While it is unclear when more affordable generic versions will join Plan B One-Step™ on store shelves—as they should—this action represents true progress for anyone who believes that policymaking should be based on scientific evidence and that everyone deserves access to a safe and effective backup birth control option.

Related resources:

To speak with Jessica Arons about this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org