CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Nomination of Jason Furman to Lead the Council of Economic Advisers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today Neera Tanden, President and CEO of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement on President Barack Obama’s nomination of Jason Furman as chair of the Council of Economic Advisers:

Jason Furman is a strong choice to lead the White House Council of Economic Advisers. He brings both the intellectual firepower of a first-rate economist, and the sound and steady judgment of an experienced senior policymaker. On issue after issue, he has been focused on how to ensure the economy grows for everyone, not just the wealthy few. Mr. Furman understands that spurring strong and stable job creation is an urgent priority for our nation, and his knowledge and experience will be vital to keeping our economy on a solid road to recovery.

To speak with a CAP expert, contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org