CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Caperton on Resignation of Jon Wellinghoff, Chairman of U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress Managing Director of Energy Richard Caperton issued the following statement on the resignation of Jon Wellinghoff, chairman of the U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, or FERC:

I commend Chairman Wellinghoff for his work in moving our country toward a clean energy future. By issuing rules that will help build transmission lines to carry renewable energy and allow demand response to compete in wholesale markets, FERC has taken steps to enable a low-carbon electricity system. Under Chairman Wellinghoff’s leadership, the commission helped ensure that public health protections issued by the Environmental Protection Agency do no harm to our electric reliability, and FERC has also cracked down on market manipulation that harms consumers. His vision of improving energy efficiency, enabling renewable energy, and electrifying cars has become a reality under his leadership.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org