CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on Pre-Kindergarten in the Obama Budget

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today CAP President and CEO Neera Tanden released the following reaction to the news that President Barack Obama’s budget proposal will make free universal pre-kindergarten education available nationwide, paid for by raising taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products:

The president’s new preschool and early childhood plan makes a bold investment in our country’s children. This investment won’t add a dime to the deficit and it will be fully paid for by a tax on sales of cigarettes and other harmful tobacco products, which will make America healthier. Decades of research demonstrate that preschool is absolutely critical for building lifelong skills, and that the returns from early childhood investments dwarf the costs. Countries like China and India understand this and are investing huge amounts in preschool programs. The president’s plan is critical for ensuring that our kids are prepared to compete in this global race.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related resource: Investing in our Children: A Plan to Expand Access to Preschool and Child Care

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org