CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Stachelberg on Proposition 8 and the Defense of Marriage Act Supreme Court Oral Arguments

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to this week’s oral arguments before the U.S. Supreme Court on the constitutionality of California’s Proposition 8 and the Defense of Marriage Act, Winnie Stachelberg, Executive Vice President for External Affairs at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

The writing is on the wall when it comes to marriage equality for gay and lesbian couples. The shift in public opinion toward supporting the freedom to marry was even more obvious over the past two days due to the groundswell of support, not only in front of the Supreme Court building but also in cities across the nation, as well as in the online community. One of the greatest promises of our Constitution is equality under the law. Equal protection under the U.S. Constitution requires equal treatment of all Americans, and that includes equal treatment for loving and committed same-sex couples.

To speak with Winnie Stachelberg, please contact Anne Shoup at 202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org