CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta on the Expected Proclamation of 5 New National Monuments

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – President Barack Obama is expected to sign a proclamation creating five new national monuments across the country on Monday, including protection of 240,000 acres of land in Rio Grande del Norte, New Mexico. In response, Center for American Progress Chair and former White House Chief of Staff John Podesta released the following statement:

I commend President Obama’s action to create five new national monuments across the country. This is a victory for conservation and for all Americans. The last Congress was the most antienvironmental in history, so President Obama is right to respond to the calls of local communities that want their public lands protected for the environmental, cultural, and economic benefits they provide. This marks a significant development where President Obama has begun to put his mark on protecting the national treasure of America for future generations.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org