CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Heather Boushey on February Jobs Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today Heather Boushey, Chief Economist at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of February’s employment figures:

New data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics provide some welcome good news as employers added 236,000 new jobs in February and the unemployment rate dropped from 7.9 percent to 7.7 percent. Even though government cutbacks have slowed economic growth over the winter, this drag on the economy has not yet shown up in slower employment growth. We shouldn’t break out the champagne yet, however, as the sharp cuts in government spending implemented a week ago today will add roadblocks to recovery.

To speak with Heather Boushey about the monthly jobs report, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org