CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol Browner on McCarthy’s Nomination for EPA Administrator

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today as Gina McCarthy was nominated as the next Environmental Protection Agency administrator, the Center for American Progress released the following statement from CAP Distinguished Senior Fellow Carol M. Browner, former EPA administrator and former director of the White House Office of Energy and Climate Change Policy:

Gina McCarthy is a strong choice for EPA administrator—she’s worked for and with both sides of the aisle to forge common-sense and science-based solutions to protect children, seniors, and the public health from dangerous pollution. She has a strong background in working with business, conservationists, public health officials, and other leaders—they know her and know what to expect from her. Ms. McCarthy showed tremendous leadership in the fight for clean air with the mercury-reduction standards for power plants and other sources, new standards for cleaner cars, limits for pollution carried through the air over state lines, and a proposed standard to limit climate change fueling carbon pollution from new power plants. We look forward to working with her to protect public health by limiting carbon pollution from existing sources, particularly power plants.

To speak with Carol Browner, please contact David Di Martino at 202.247.7271 or at david@blueenginemedia.com.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org