CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Housing Expert Julia Gordon on New Bipartisan Policy Center Housing Commission Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Bipartisan Policy Center’s Housing Commission today released its highly anticipated report, “Housing America’s Future: New Directions for National Policy.” The report covers the government-sponsored enterprise reform, the role of the Federal Housing Administration, the importance of affordable rental housing, and the special challenges of both rural housing and an aging population. Reacting to the report, Julia Gordon, Director of Housing Finance and Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

The Housing Commission report offers a cogent and comprehensive discussion of the critical questions facing today’s housing policymakers. We agree with the commissioners that homeownership can and should continue to play a crucial role for American families and communities. We especially welcome bipartisan endorsement of a limited but explicit role for the government to maintain the viability of the 30-year fixed rate mortgage and to provide access to safe and sustainable lending for all creditworthy borrowers.

The commission has established a solid framework on which to build, and we call on Congress and the Obama administration to seize this opportunity to move forward quickly. As always, the devil is in the details, and there are many still to be worked out. We look forward to a robust discussion on how the housing finance system of the future can support a strong middle class and broadly shared prosperity across all communities.

Related resources:

To speak with CAP experts on this topic, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org