CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: The Real-World Effect of the ‘Sequester’

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Friday, February 22, 2013, the Center for American Progress will host a discussion featuring a diverse panel of experts who will explain what the sequester will mean for ordinary Americans and for the country as a whole.

On March 1, 2013, a set of large, automatic across-the-board spending cuts—known as the “sequester”—is scheduled to kick in. These cuts, deliberately designed to be damaging, will affect a wide array of government services, investments, protections, and benefits. Programs focused on everything from military readiness to cancer research to nutrition assistance for pregnant women will feel the pinch. If Congress does not act to avert these cuts, the effects will be felt all across the nation.

WHO:

Featured speakers:
Loren Thompson, Chief Operating Officer, Lexington Institute
Almeta Keys, Executive Director, Edward C. Mazique Parent Child Center, a Head Start program of Washington, D.C.
Duncan Templeton, Director of Government Affairs, Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association; Criminal Investigator, D.C. U.S. Attorney’s Office
Sharon Parrott
, Vice President for Budget Policy and Economic Opportunity at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities; formerly Counselor to Secretary Sebelius for Human Services Policy

Moderated by:
Scott Lilly, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Friday, February 22, 2013
10:00a.m. ET – 11:30a.m. ET

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org